Kingstown, St. Vincent – On Sunday October 1, 2023 at the just concluded presentation ceremony of the Windwards Super 50 Championship, President of Cricket West Indies (CWI), Dr. Kishore Shallow, President of the Windward Islands Cricket Board (WICB), Mr. Dwain Gill and President of the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association (SVGCA), Mr. Dougal James, engaged in a symbolic handshake to officially launch the Windwards Volcanoes Franchise in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

To mark the occasion, Mr. Gill delivered the feature address to a gathering of the WICB Directors, executive members of the SVGCA, players of all teams, and other officials of Cricket. In his address, he emphasized the aims and objectives of the Franchise, and the importance of the various stakeholders towards the success of Windwards Cricket. He thanked the government of Grenada and all other stakeholders including the Grenada Cricket Association for their invaluable contribution to the success of the Franchise. He also thanked the St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association, its government, staff of the Franchise, and other stakeholders for the work that was done to ensure a smooth transition to St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

The Franchise, which will be located in St. Vincent and the Grenadines for an initial period of two years, will see 15 players from the four Windward islands, and other regional countries train to become an elite professional cricket team. The Franchise will also accommodate local cricketers at various ages to train side by side with its players.

The Franchise will work under Head Coach, Keon Kenroy Peters – former national and West Indies fast bowler,. He will be ably assisted by Physiotherapist Shian Ollivierre, Strength and Conditioning Coach Damique Walters, and other local and regional coaches. The Franchise will also be supported by an administrative staff led by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Romel Currency.

The following is the list of Franchise players:

  1. Ryan John – Grenada
  2. Nicklaus Redhead – Grenada
  3. Johann Jeremiah – Grenada
  4. Shermon Lewis – Grenada
  5. Sunil Ambris – St Vincent & the Grenadines
  6. Kenneth Dember – St Vincent & the Grenadines
  7. Darius Martin – St Vincent & the Grenadines
  8. Kimani Melius – Lucia
  9. Larry Edward – Lucia
  10. Shadrack Descarte – Lucia
  11. Alick Athanaze – Dominica
  12. Kavem Hodge – Dominica
  13. Tevyn Walcott – Barbados
  14. Shamar Springer – Barbados
  15. Jeremy Solozano – Trinidad & Tobago