St. George’s, Grenada – Windward Islands Cricket Board (WICB) has elected Dwain Gill to continue leading the organisation for the next two years. The Grenadian has been the president since Dr. Kishore Shallow relinquished the position upon his elevation to Cricket West Indies’ presidency.

Gill was given the confidence of his shareholders at the WICB Annual General Meeting on May 4, 2023, held at the National Stadium in Grenada. Also elected was a new vice president, Clement Marcellin, the current president of the Dominica Cricket Association. Marcellin was unopposed and was also given the responsibility as the other WICB shareholder representative to CWI with President Gill.

Another critical item on the agenda was a presentation of a new strategic plan, which was adopted by the Board. The strategic plan for the period 2023 – 2026 includes five strategic imperatives and seven strategic objectives. In his statement included in the strategic plan, President Gill said, “This strategic plan is consistent with the approach of Windward Islands Cricket Board (WICB) in recent times. With this document, there is now a clear strategic focus and direction for the next three years. As a result, the Board would be better informed and guided to prioritize resources for the most critical areas.”. He added, “Under my presidency, there will be a drive to implement this strategic plan. I am enthusiastic about working with my fellow directors and other stakeholders to realize the upliftment of cricket in the Windward Islands.”

The AGM also received a comprehensive presentation on cricket matters, including talent pathway management for male and female, by the WICB technical director, Miles Bascombe. He provided an update on the technical plan implemented over the last couple of years that inspired the Windwards Volcanoes undefeated outing in this year’s first-class tournament.

The Board also showed their appreciation for the contribution of Dr. Kishore Shallow, the previous WICB president, by making him an honorary life Member of the WICB. President Gill presented Dr. Shallow with a plaque to commemorate his induction.

The meeting also elected a new treasurer, Jenry Ollivierre, replacing the longstanding treasurer, Dougal James. Kezron Walters was re-elected as the secretary.

The full Board:

Dwain Gill – President (CWI Representative)
Clement Marcellin – Vice President (CWI Representative)
Carol Henry – Director (Alternate CWI Representative)
Johnson Richardson – Director (Alternate CWI Representative)
Jamie Jno Baptiste – Director
Miles Bascombe – Director
Julian Charles – Director
Kerry Frank – Director
Samuel Holder – Director
Kezron Walters – Secretary
Jenry Ollivieree – Treasurer