Kingstown, St. Vincent and the Grenadines – Trinidad & Tobago lifts the first Browne-John/McIntyre trophy. After losing the first match, the Trinidadians won the Women Under 19 T20 series against the Windward Islands 4 -1.

The closing ceremony for the tour took place at Haddon Hotel last Tuesday evening. Giving remarks at the ceremony were SVG Cricket Association President, Mr. Romel Currency; Cricket West Indies Women Lead Selector, Mrs. Ann Browne-John; and Cricket West Indies Vice President and Windward Islands Cricket Board President, Dr. Kishore Shallow.

Sentiments of encouragement were shared by the speakers at the award ceremony. Dr. Shallow advised the players to continue their dedication and passion for the game, and encouraged them to aspire to play international cricket for the West Indies, similar to Merissa Aguilleira, the former West Indies captain, who was also in attendance.

Two players stood out with awards at the ceremony. Windward Islands captain, Zaida James, captured the Most runs trophy, with 155 runs at an average of 38.75. James also reached the highest score of the tournament, 71 not out. Trinidadian Djenaba Joseph captured the most wickets, 11, at an average of 9.09. Both James (8 wickets) and Joseph (68 runs) made allround contributions earning them the Most Valuable Player for Windward Islands and Trinidad and Tobago, respectively.

The series was a collaborative effort between the Windward Islands Cricket Board, Trinidad and Tobago Women Cricket Association, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines Cricket Association.


Most Runs of the tournament: 155 runs, Zaida James, Windward Islands
Most wickets of the tournament: 11 wickets, Djenaba Joseph, T&T
MVP, Trinidad and Tobago: Djenaba Joseph with 11 wickets & 68 runs
MVP, Windward Islands: Zaida James with 155 runs & 8 wickets

Match 1: Windward Islands Women U19 won by 30 runs
Match 2: Trinidad & Tobago Women U19 won by 46 runs
Match 3: Trinidad & Tobago Women U19 won by 14 runs
Match 4: Trinidad & Tobago Women U19 won by 3 wickets
Match 5: Trinidad & Tobago Women U19 won by 28 runs

To view full stats of the tournament, visit